Skip to content

Illumination

September 10, 2009

Last night, the eve of 9/11, I was rushing to finish an errand so I could go home when I stopped cold in the middle of Union Square to join others who were staring up at the Twin Tower lights of the 9/11 Memorial. Faces to the sky, eyes full of awe and remembrance, some people stopped only for a moment to take their snapshot and move on…others stayed for much longer, but all of us stood in absolute silence.


Everyone has a story. A where we were, who we were with, what we were doing on that tragic day and I am no exception. However last night, the details seemed to evaporate from my mind like the clouds that tried to surround the tower lights. A sense of community washed over me and a common thread tied this group of strangers beside me together….. if only for a short while.

I eventually carried on with my evening, but at a much slower pace and though ‘rush’ is my middle name on most days… I did not push past people in the streets, but rather took the time to look at them and threw out the occasional smile, an act we should all do more often. My point (and this is not news, but something we seem to lose sight of so easily), is that while we may look different, act differently, move at different paces and with many an agenda, at the end of the day, we really are all just the same.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

